WSL Hall of Fame: 2021 Inductees

The WSL Hall of Fame has been launched to recognise those who have made significant impacts on the league as well as a celebration of 10 years since its first season in 2011.

Each year a new class of inductees chosen by an expert panel will be added.

These are the first set of inductees in the WSL Hall of Fame for 2021...

1. Fara Williams

Fara Williams is England's most capped player of all time | Alex Livesey - Danehouse/GettyImages

Fara Williams retired in 2019 as the most capped England player of all time, male or female. She was a prodigy of the early 2000s and was already an established star by the time the WSL began its first season in 2011.

Williams was part of the Liverpool side that won back-to-back titles in 2013 and 2014, before later joining Arsenal and then remaining one of the best players in the league during four seasons at Reading.

2. Rachel Yankey

Rachel Yankey won two WSL titles with Arsenal | Charlie Crowhurst/GettyImages

Having already dominated English women's football with Arsenal in the late 2000s, winger Rachel Yankey was a key part of the Gunners side that lifted the first two WSL titles back-to-back in 2011 and 2012.

Having earlier also played for Fulham and Birmingham as well as in the United Statess in the pre-WSL era, Yankey remained in the WSL until her retirement in 2016.

More 2021 Hall of Fame inductees continue to be announced...

For more from Jamie Spencer, follow him on Twitter and Facebook!

Source : 90min